看中獨特優勢 葡語系學生澳大讀法律

每年都有很多來自葡語系國家的學生到澳門大學攻讀法律,以裝備自己成為透過對法治精神充分理解,來處理日後其職業所需的專業人士。澳大法學院教學作風嚴謹,匯聚來自澳門本地、內地、葡萄牙及其他國家的高水平教員,同時也定期邀請國際著名法律學者擔任訪問教授,以及聘請部分澳門現任的法官、檢察官、政府部門的法律專家和律師為兼職教員,以培養具國際視野、國際競爭力的法律人才,為澳門乃至中葡平台各類法律事務出謀獻策。

法學課程與葡國家接軌

來自聖多美和普林西比的澳大法學院大二學生Kennedy Antonio表示,澳門有著獨特的歷史背景,而且澳門社會在各方面發展迅速,令其法律制度呈現國際都市所具有的開放性,而最重要的是澳大有法律課程以葡語授課,對來自葡語國家的學生而言是一大優勢。澳大法學院的教學制度大致屬羅馬─日爾曼或歐洲大陸法體制,教學作風嚴謹。Kennedy說:「我從小就立志透過學習法律,瞭解人與人之間、國家與人民之間的權利義務關係。澳大在法律教學上非常嚴格,要求學生貫徹理解法理的依據,這使我對社會上不同規範有更深認識。」

澳大法學士課程內容涉及與當代法律發展趨勢、法律理念演變等的重要議題,在中、葡文法學士課程中亦特別設有歐盟法、國際法和比較法等科目。Kennedy表示,這些法律知識對他日後回國發展非常有用,他說:「澳大法律教學很靈活變通,注重與世界發展趨勢接軌,因此不論國際學生抑或本地學生在學有所成後,都會具很強的競爭力,能對身處的國家或地區作出貢獻。」他希望一直在澳大深造,直至完成博士學位。

以知識搭建商貿平台

來自非洲葡語國家佛得角、攻讀法律的Manuel RoDirigues De Veiga在今年六月學士畢業,而他選擇留在澳大深造,繼續修讀碩士法律研究課程。Manuel回想數年前,他以優異成績獲發獎學金來澳大就讀,展開人生新一頁,他說:「如今澳大已變成了我第二個家,在這裡讀書就如品嚐一杯『雞尾酒』,因為這裡甚麼國籍的人都有。」另外,他表示,澳大法學師資隊伍優秀,而且在學術上一直配合搭建中葡平台,有助自己實現理想。「佛得角對中國商品有龐大的需求,尤其是電子產品,能透過澳門這一窗戶引入佛得角,當中當然涉及法律問題。澳門與佛得角兩地法律均源於葡萄牙,法學語言和邏輯相近,因此到澳大升學是一大便利,可以運用自身熟悉兩地商務法律的優勢,開拓電子商貿事業,以澳門為橋樑搭建中國與佛得角的電子商貿平台。」

澳大法學具獨特優勢

來自葡萄牙、修讀法律的Rita Rocha特意選擇到澳大法學院當交換生,因為她很渴望瞭解澳門作為中國境內的一個特區在法律層面上的特殊性。她說:「澳門法律是因為葡萄牙的歷史而誕生的一套體制,隨著時代轉變,兩地法律各自有所革新,而澳門法律也因地制宜,沒有跟隨葡萄牙的步伐,但同時仍保留葡萄牙原有的法律基礎,因此學習兩地法律的演變區別很引人入勝。」澳門回歸中國快20年了,她樂見澳門法律逐漸演變成自己的一套,擺脫葡萄牙法律的影子,變得更有獨立性、自主性。另一名來自葡萄牙的交換生Beatriz Lourenço對此也深感認同,並進一步指出,兩地法律發展差異很大程度上取決於當地的宗教信仰和文化適應。

此外,Beatriz還表示,葡語作為澳門法律的語言本身就是一大優勢,以鄰近的香港為例,用英語就能讀懂當地法律制度,令來自世界各地的商人更有信心投資,因此「澳門法律也為葡語國家開了一扇窗;同時,在澳門讀書,能更接近中國,接收到在葡萄牙看不到的信息,能更深入瞭解中國的發展。」Beatriz計劃畢業後留在澳門工作,嘗試在亞洲開展新的生活,因此她選擇了澳大,率先熟習澳門的法律,構建人際網絡,為未來鋪路。

學漢語增市場競爭力

另外兩名來自葡萄牙的法學院交換生Francisca和Teresa均表示,難得越洋來到亞洲,要把握學習漢語的機會。她們報讀了澳大孔子學院專門向母語為非漢語的學生提供的國際漢語課程。Teresa說:「學習新的語言和文化是我的興趣,而澳大是學習漢語的理想地方。在中文語境下生活,更容易記住詞彙。我的中文老師很嚴格,注重發音和聲調的正確使用,如果說不對,他會一直叫你重說,直到你說對為止。」

有意日後從事商務法相關工作的Francisca表示,作為歐洲人,在澳大學習和生活就像打開一扇瞭解中華文化的窗。同時,她也留意到歐洲市場較傾向曾經留學中國的學生,她說:「目前有很多中國企業在葡萄牙投資,有不少的葡萄牙公司較欣賞懂得講普通話的人才,因為在商務溝通上可能不僅會涉及漢語,甚至會要求對中華文化有所認識。」

新聞來源:澳門大學傳訊部

UM’s Faculty of Law Draws Students from Portuguese-speaking Countries for Its Unique Advantages

Every year, many students from Portuguese-speaking countries choose to study law at the University of Macau (UM). The Faculty of Law (FLL) at UM has a strong faculty team comprised of high-calibre scholars from Macao, mainland China, Portugal, and other countries. The faculty regularly invites world-renowned scholars in the field to serve as visiting professors, and hires incumbent judges, prosecutors, as well as legal experts and attorneys working in the government to teach on a part-time basis, in order to produce legal professionals with a global mindset and competitiveness.

Similarities to Law Programmes in Portugal

Kennedy Antonio from the Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe is a second-year law major at UM. There are two main reasons why he chose to study law at UM. First, because of Macao’s unique historical background and its rapid development in various areas, there is an openness about its legal system that befits an international metropolis. Second, a more important reason, the law programmes at UM are taught in Portuguese, which is a big draw for students from Portuguese-speaking countries. The law programmes at UM largely follow the Romano-Germanic system or the Continental European system. Antonio says, ‘I made up my mind to study law at a young age because I wanted to understand the relationship between individuals and the relationship between states and their citizens in terms of rights and obligations. UM has strict requirements for law students. It requires the students to thoroughly understand the legal theories and principles, which helps to deepen my understanding of the different laws in our society.’

The bachelor of law programmes at UM cover important issues in law, such as the current trends in law and the evolution of legal theories. The bachelor of law in Chinese and Portuguese programme includes courses in European Union Law, International Law, and Comparative Law. Antonio believes the knowledge in these fields will be very useful when he returns to his native country. He says, ‘UM is very flexible in law education and its law programmes meet global trends. So graduates of the programmes, whether they are from Macao or elsewhere, will have a great competitive edge and will be able to make a contribution to their countries or regions.’ He plans to stay at UM to pursue further studies until he obtains a PhD degree.

Building a Knowledge-based Business Platform

Manuel RoDirigues De Veiga, a law major from the Republic of Cabo Verde, obtained his bachelor’s degree from UM this June and decided to stay at UM for further studies. Several years ago, Veiga was admitted to UM on a scholarship for his outstanding academic performance, thus beginning a new chapter in his life. He says, ‘UM is like my second home. It has excellent faculty members and teaching facilities. Studying here is like savouring a cocktail, because you meet people from different nationalities.’ He believes the strong faculty team at UM and the university’s effort to support the government in developing Macao into a business platform between China and Portuguese-speaking countries will help him achieve his dream. He says, ‘Cape Verde has a huge demand for merchandise from China, especially electronics. Importing Chinese merchandise to Cape Verde via Macao naturally involves a lot of legal issues.’ He explains that the legal systems in Macao and Cabo Verde are both based on the Portuguese law, with close similarities in language and logic. He plans to pursue a career in e-business after graduation. Specifically, he wants to build an e-platform in Macao to facilitate business activities between China and Cabo Verde, so knowledge of business laws in both places will be a great advantage.

The Unique Advantage of Studying Law at UM

Rita Rocha from Portugal decided to study law at UM as an exchange student because she wanted to understand Macao’s special legal status in China as a special administrative region. She says, ‘The legal system in Macao is based on the Portuguese law, but the laws in the two places have both experienced changes with time. On the one hand, all the Portuguese heritage is still left in Macao’s legal system, but on the other hand Macao didn’t copy the alterations and adaptations the Portuguese have made, so it’s fascinating to study the differences between Macao’s law and the Portuguese law and how they have evolved.’ It’s been nearly 20 years since the handover of Macao’s sovereignty to China, Rocha is pleased to see Macao’s effort to become more independent in its legal system. Her sentiments are echoed by another exchange student from Portugal, Beatriz Lourenço, who points out that the differences between Macao’s law and the Portuguese law are largely attributable to the differences in religions and cultures.

Lourenço says, ‘The fact that the laws in Macao are written in Portuguese is itself a great advantage. Take Macao’s neighboring city Hong Kong. The laws in Hong Kong are written in English, which makes business people from around the world more confident to do business in Hong Kong because they can understand the laws in English. Likewise, Portuguese being the official language of law in Macao accords the city the role of a gateway to China for people from Portuguese-speaking countries. Also, because of Macao’s proximity to China, studying in Macao allows me to access information about China that I couldn’t access in Portugal, so I can have a deeper understanding of China’s current development.’ Lourenço plans to find a job in Macao after graduation. That’s why she decided to study law at UM. She wants to familiarise herself with Macao laws and build networks in order to pave the way for her future career development.

Learning Chinese to Increase Competitiveness

Francisca and Teresa are two other exchange students from Portugal in the FLL. They both treasure the opportunity to study at an Asian university, so they want to make the most out of it. They have enrolled for a Chinese language course in the Confucius Institute at UM which is targeted at people whose native tongue is not Chinese. Teresa says, ‘I love to learn new languages and new cultures, and UM is the ideal place to learn Chinese, because when you live in a Chinese-speaking environment, it’s easier to remember the new words. My Chinese language instructor is very strict. He believes in the importance of speaking Chinese with the correct pronunciations and intonation, so if you can’t do it right, he will ask you to try again and again, until you get it right.’

Francisca wants to pursue a career in business law after graduation. As a European, she feels studying and living at UM offers her a window to the Chinese culture. She says college graduates who have studied in China are favoured on the European job market. She says, ‘Many Chinese companies are investing in Portugal. So many Portuguese companies want to hire people who can speak Mandarin, because proficiency in Chinese, and better yet, in the Chinese culture, is very useful during business negotiations.’

Source:  Communications Office